GJA AWARDS: GHOne Tv’s Alice Aryeetey Wins Most Promising Journalist

Broadcast Journalist with EIB Network’s GHOne Tv, Alice Aryeetey has been adjudged the Best in Disability Reporting and Most Promising Journalist at the 23rd Ghana Journalist Association Awards.

The award winning journalist groundbreaking and comprehensive report with an interest in reporting on social and developmental issues, in 2017 also won two awards at the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) awards for being the Best in reporting on Disability and also producing the best TV report on education.

In 2015, she also won a GJA award for being the best in reporting on Disability. Alice holds a bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies from the Ghana Institute of Journalism.

Host of GH Today on GhOne TV Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman also won Best Development Journalism (Electronic) and EIB Network’s Nkawkaw-based Agoo 96.9FM in the Eastern Region won the Best Rural Radio Station.

This year’s awards event themed: “State of Investigative journalism: Boundaries of privacy and borders of the public interest.” was held at the Kempinski Hotel in Accra on Saturday night.

This year, 36 journalists out of 548 applications received by the Awards Committee were presented with awards in the various categories..

Honorary awards

The GJA also conferred honorary awards on some personalities who have contributed immensely to the growth of the media industry.

They are Mrs Barbara Gaisie, A.C. Ohene, Madam Faustina Nelson, Dr Osei Kwame Despite, Dr Ernest Ofori Sarpong, Dr Samuel Amo Tobbin, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, Mr Kwasi Twum and Commissioner of Police (COP), Dr George A. Dampare.

2017 GJA Award Winners.

Journalist of the Year 2017 – Bernard Koku Avle (Citi FM)

Most Promising Journalist of the Year – Alice Aryeetey (GhOne TV)

News Reporting (Print) – Severious Kale-Dery (Daily Graphic)

Best Sports Reporter (TV) – Saddick Adams (Atinka TV)

Features (Radio) – Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM)

Features (TV) – Peggy Ama Donkor (GTV)

Investigative Reporting – Stanley Nii Blewu (TV3)

Maritime – Grace Nana Esi Boateng (Oman FM)

Education – Peter Quao Adator (TV3)

News Reporting (Electronic) – Peter Quao Adator (TV3)

Domestic Tourism (Print) – Charles Andoh (The Mirror)

Features (Print) – Rebecca Quaicoe-Duho (Daily Graphic)

Environment (Electronic) – Portia Gabor (TV3)

Human Rights (Print) – Samuel Adadi Akapule (Ghanaian Times)

Sports Journalist (Radio) – Dan Kwaku Yeboah (Peace FM)

Best Newspaper – Daily Graphic

Best Radio Station – Peace FM

Human Rights (Child Protection – TV) – Ernest Manu (Joy Mews)

Human Rights (Child Protection- Radio) – Rebecca Ekpe (GBC Radio)

Best TV station – UTV

Best Layout & Designed Newspaper – Daily Graphic

Agriculture (Print) – Ama Amankwaah Baafi (Graphic Business)

Best Photojournalist – David Andoh (Myjoyonline)

Best Health Report (Radio) – Nana Yaa Konadu (Peace FM)

Best Health Report (Print) – Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic)

Domestic Tourism (TV) – UTV

Oil and Gas – Moses Dotse Aklorbortu (Daily Graphic)

Best Digital Journalism – GNA

Small and Medium Enterprises – Christian Akorli (GNA)

Business Finance and Economic Reporting – Suleiman Mustapha (Daily Graphic)

Best Morning Show (Radio) – Citi FM Breakfast Show

Best Morning Show (TV) – Good Morning Ghana (Metro TV)

Best Report in Health (TV) – Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News)

Best Rural (Electronic) – Joojo Cobinnah (Joy News)

Best Rural Reporting (Print) – David Kodjo-Asinesi

Mining (Print) – Gabriel Ahiabor (Daily Graphic)

Mining (Electronic) – Kwasi Anum

Sanitation and Hygiene – Caesar Abagali (GNA)

Best WASH – Justice Adoboe (Xinhua News Agency)

Best Programme (TV – Akan) – Di Asa (Atinka TV)

Best Development Journalism – Timothy Ngnenbe (Daily Graphic)

Best in Disability Reporting (Electronic) – Alice Aryeetey (GhOne TV)

Best Development Journalism (Electronic) – Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman (GhOne TV)

Best HIV AIDS Reporter – Linda Tenya Ayettey (Daily Guide)

Best Transport and Road Safety – Severious Kale-Dery and Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)

Environment (Print) – Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)

Agriculture (Electronic) – Joseph Opoku Gakpo (Joy News)

Best Female Journalist – Jamila Akweley Okertchiri (Daily Guide)

Best Cartoonist – Akosua (Daily Guide)

Democracy and Peace Building – UTV

Best Crime and Court Reporting- Joyce Danso (GNA)

Disability (Print) – Emmanuel Adu-Gyamerah (Daily Graphic)

Anti-Galamsey – Kojo Agyemang, Latif Iddrisu, Godwin Arthur, Stephen Kwaku Fosu, Timothy Ngnenbe, Joyce Gyekye

Media houses

Apart from the journalists, some media houses were also awarded for showing excellence in their service delivery.

They are the GCGL, Metro TV, GTV, Citi FM, Hello FM, Obonu, GNA, Moonlight FM and Kekeli Radio.

The rest are Zaa FM, Radio Wa and the West End Radio.

Best Rural Radio Station

Ashanti- Hello FM

Greater Accra – Obonu

Brong Ahafo – Moonlight Radio

Eastern – Agoo FM

Western – West End Radio

Central – Radio Central

Upper West – Radio Wa

Northern – Zaa FM

Volta – Kekeli

Upper East –

Gh Vibes

Award-winning Blogger & Promoter, Artiste Manager, Ceo Of Call / WhatsApp: 0248035252/0244682386

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
escort mersin - izmir bayan escort - escort ankara - amasya escort - istanbul escort bayanescort mersin - izmir bayan escort - escort ankara - amasya escort - istanbul escort bayan